
Perast
Perast lies at the foot of the hill of St. Elijah (873 m), opposite the Strait of Verige in the Bay of Kotor. It was named after the Illyrian tribe Pirusta, prehistoric remains found in the cave of Spila above Perast testify to the very early settlement of this area.
The city plan is quite simple. One long street leads through the city along the coast, and from it the stairs lead to several parts above Perast. In the city center there is a square (Pjaca) dominated by the church of St. Nicholas with its impressive 55-meter-high bell tower. The originally started three-nave church was never completed, due to lack of money. Today, there is a treasury and a museum in the presbytery and sacristy of the unfinished church.
Perast is one of the most beautiful Baroque towns in Montenegro. As a former sailor center it still shines with marvelous buildings, pretty churches and a romantic waterfront…
– Élise de Ridder, Belgium
From the earliest days Perast was turned to the sea and seafaring. As early as 1336, Perast had a shipyard that operated until 1813. It received the status of a municipality in 1580 and kept it until 1950. However, Perast experienced its greatest prosperity in the 17th and 18th centuries, when about a hundred Perast ships sailed the world’s seas. Since one of the most famous naval schools was in Perast, Peter the Great, on the recommendation of Venice, sent the sons of famous noble families to Perast to study with the famous mathematician and navigator Marko Martinović. The data show that during 1697 and 1698, 17 Russian princes sailed on Marko Martinović’s ship.
The existing church dates from the 17th century and the construction was completed with the construction of a magnificent bell tower in 1691. On the west wall of the church there is a memorial plaque with the text carved in the vernacular, placed in honor of the victory of a small number of Perast residents in the battle against the Turks on May 15, 1654. Perast residents managed to defend themselves because brothers Sladoje and Stijepo Stijepovic from Risan succeeded the day before to inform his third brother Petar Stijepović, who settled in Perast, about the planned attack.
Basic tour information
Perast tour lasts 2 hours. Guests have 2 stops. First 20 minute break on Our Lady of the Rocks island where guests can look around, explore the church and museum and use the restroom and second one where guests have 20 minutes to explore Old Town Perast. Maximum guest capacity per speedboat is 10 people (not including 2 crew members). At the beginning of the tour, every guest will receive one bottled water.
Tour Content
Book this tour
Interested in another tour?
Blue Cave
Join us!
With this 3 hour tour guests are visiting 5 historic locations and are swimming inside the famous Blue Cave!
Submarine Tunnels
Join us!
These 3 tunnels were built by the Yugoslav Army in the middle of last century. They were used by a smaller submarines for hideout.
Our Lady of the Rocks
Join us!
This tour lasts 2 hours. Perast’s shore is lined with Baroque palaces and graceful churches, with islet Our Lady of The Rocks across it.